“It’s a dangerous business…”

Maynooth Gate

Photography of an archway in Maynooth, Ireland. By L.Phillips, 2010.

 

“It’s a dangerous business, Frodo, going out your door. You step onto the road, and if you don’t keep your feet, there’s no knowing where you might be swept off to.”

-J.R.R. Tolkien, Lord of the Rings

Times of liminality are frightening, exciting, exhausting, and overwhelming. And so, I find myself in one of these times. For the last 10 years my identity has been tied to that of a student, a researcher, and a scholar. I knew my road and I followed it. There were times of difficulty, like when I was trying to finish a grant proposal, and I went into labor with my first child. Still, even in those most difficult times I always knew which way was forward. Now, I am done. I am a PhD, but not an academic. I loved the academy, but I knew after many years in it that my life was going to be outside of it. And so it is. I stand on the edge of a precipice and am entering my new life as a writer and editor.

Welcome. This is my website documenting and sharing my love of writing. It also provides information about how to contact me if you are interested in hiring me for writing, editing,  or researching. I plan on including work on ideas about writing, my own history of writing, some musings about linguistics, and the occasional homage to anthropology. In other words: a little bit of this, and a little bit of that.

Leave a Reply

